Community Budget Workshops and Updated Budget Website Announced

Jacksonville Mayor John Peyton today announced opportunities for Jacksonville citizens to again actively engage in the fiscal year 2011/2012 budget preparation process with five upcoming community budget workshops and an update of the city’s comprehensive budget website, www.myjaxbudget.com.

Education Advocates Upset Over Budget Proposal

Education Advocates Upset Over Budget Proposal

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- Education Advocates were up in arms today after Governor Rick Scott released his budget proposal.

Colleen Wood, the Executive Director of Save Duval Schools, questioned his message. "He said we have to do this for our children and our grandchildren. But my question is: Whose children is this for?"

In Duval County alone, Wood estimated 90 million dollars will be cut from the public school budget to make up for Governor Rick Scott's proposed budget cuts.   "It's important as a community that we decide what our priorities are," Wood said.

Though Governor Scott contends cutting taxes is priority number one.  "We can't spend more than we take in, we can't," he said.

His budget proposal contained more than four billion dollars in budget cuts, one-point-four of that being property taxes, which largely fund public school education.

Downtown Development is Economic Development

Audrey Moran, Republican candidate for mayor, announced today that she welcomes the document released today by the Jacksonville Civic Council, Northbank Redevelopment Task Force Final Report.  The report was made public during a press conference that included Civic Council Chair Peter Rummell and Civic Council member and Task Force Chair Preston Haskell. 

Journalist Juan Williams to Speak at UNF Feb. 24th

Journalist Juan Williams to Speak at UNF Feb. 24th

Award-winning journalist, political commentator and author Juan Williams will be the featured speaker at the 30th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship Luncheon. He will discuss “Eyes on The Prize: America and The Dream,” which looks at civil rights then and now, historical foundations and contemporary realities.

The scholarship luncheon, presented by the University of North Florida’s Intercultural Center for PEACE, will be held from noon to 1:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 24, at the University Center Banquet Hall on the UNF campus. Doors open at 11:30 a.m.

Supervisor of Elections Office Set to Register Duval Students

Duval County Supervisor of Elections office partners with local high schools, colleges and universities to register students in the 2011 Countywide Student Voter Registration Drive. This year's drive is a three day event scheduled for Tuesday, February 1st through Thursday, February 3rd.

Organizing for America Supporters in Florida to Host Watch Parties for State of the Union

Volunteers with Organizing for America will gather across Florida Tuesday, January 25, 2011 at 8:30 pm to watch President Obama deliver his State of the Union address.  OFA supporters will use the State of the Union to have a broad discussion on the President’s agenda to strengthen the middle class, continue the economic recovery, and improve the tone of civil discourse. Volunteers will also discuss and plan ways to continue supporting the President’s agenda and protect the progress the country has made the last two years.


  • Northstar Substation Restaurant, 119 E. Bay Street


Ten Candidates Qualify for Jacksonville's Mayoral Race

Ten Candidates Qualify for Jacksonville's Mayoral Race

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- The city's spring election is right around the corner with 10 candidates qualifying to have their names on the ballot for mayor.

The runoff election is scheduled for March 22 with the general election held in May.

Qualifying ends at noon today with candidates having a week to file necessary paperwork and pay the fee to have their names on the ballot.

According to the Supervisor of Elections Office 10 people have qualified for the mayor's race  Six he says will have their names on the ballot the other four are write- ins.

Those who have qualified either by petition or fee: Alvin Brown,  Mike Hogan, Stephen Irvine, Warren Lee, Audrey Moran, Rick Mullaney.

The write in candidates: Andy Bryan, David Crosby, Christopher Hills and James Moser.